• A Healer's Promise

    A Healer's Promise

    Beller, Misty M.

    Levi Masters's time as a British spy hasn't ended, though his country's war with America has. Overhearing a scout reveal a discovery that could give America an upper hand in future conflicts, Levi is sent to investigate. While trekking through the Canadian Rockies, he is conflicted about his life of lies and half-truths. But just as he decides to embrace truth at any cost, warriors from a hidden mountain village take him captive. Village healer Audrey Moreau is more curious than afraid of the outsider. And she's drawn to his commitment to honesty even at his own expense. But despite...

    Format: Book

    View A Healer's Promise
  • Warriors of the Storm

    Warriors of the Storm

    Cornwell, Bernard

    Format: Book

    View Warriors of the Storm
  • Bloomsbury Girls

    Bloomsbury Girls

    Jenner, Natalie

    "Natalie Jenner, the internationally bestselling author of The Jane Austen Society, returns with a compelling and heartwarming story of post-war London, a century-old bookstore, and three women determined to find their way in a fast-changing world in Bloomsbury Girls. Bloomsbury Books is an old-fashioned new and rare book store that has persisted and resisted change for a hundred years, run by men and guided by the general manager's unbreakable fifty-one rules. But in 1950, the world is changing, especially the world of books and publishing, and at Bloomsbury Books, the girls in the shop have plans: Vivien Lowry: Single since...

    Format: Book

    View Bloomsbury Girls
  • The Resistance Girl

    The Resistance Girl

    Robotham, Mandy

    Norway, 1942: She has lost everything to the Nazis. But now she fights back... War rages, and, under cover of darkness, Rumi Orlstad and her fellow resistance fighters smuggle British agents, fugitives and supplies across the North Sea into Nazi-occupied territory. One night, when he braves a storm to complete an ill-fated mission, Rumi's fiancé is lost to the dangerous waters. Broken-hearted, she withdraws from the clandestine group, vowing never to let her loved ones put themselves in the line of fire again. But months later, Rumi stumbles across a Nazi secret that lays Hitler's plans for Norway bare, and...

    Format: Book

    View The Resistance Girl
  • Siren Queen

    Siren Queen

    Vo, Nghi

    "It was magic. In every world, it was a kind of magic. "No maids, no funny talking, no fainting flowers." Luli Wei is beautiful, talented, and desperate to be a star. Coming of age in pre-Code Hollywood, she knows how dangerous the movie business is and how limited the roles are for a Chinese American girl from Hungarian Hill-but she doesn't care. She'd rather play a monster than a maid. But in Luli's world, the worst monsters in Hollywood are not the ones on screen. The studios want to own everything from her face to her name to the women...

    Format: Book

    View Siren Queen
  • Razzmatazz

    Razzmatazz

    Moore, Christopher

    "San Francisco, 1947. Bartender Sammy 'Two Toes' Tiffin and the rest of the Cookie's Coffee Irregulars, a ragtag bunch of working mugs last seen in Noir, are on the hustle: they're trying to open a driving school for Chinatown residents; shanghai an abusive Swedish stevedore; get Mable, the local madam, and her girls to a Christmas party at the State Hospital without alerting the overzealous head of the S.F.P.D. vice squad; all while Sammy's girlfriend, Stilton (a.k.a. the Cheese), and her 'Wendy the Welder' gal pals are using their wartime shipbuilding skills on a secret project that might be attracting...

    Format: Book

    View Razzmatazz
  • All the Lights Above Us

    All the Lights Above Us

    Henry, M. B.

    Across Europe, on what history will call D-Day, five unforgettable women from all walks of life strive to survive the most terrifying night of their lives. Told in alternating viewpoints, this unforgettable debut is perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Pam Jenoff. June 6, 1944. Allied forces hit the beaches of Nazi-occupied France. Among the countless lives shattered are those of five spirited women with starkly different lives. As the war reaches its tipping point, each of the women fight for the survival of themselves, their countries, and their way of life during one of the most pivotal days...

    Format: Book

    View All the Lights Above Us
  • Dirty Bird Blues

    Dirty Bird Blues

    Major, Clarence

    "Set in post-World War II Chicago and Omaha, the novel features Manfred Banks, a young, harmonica-blowing blues singer who is always writing music in his head. Torn between his friendships with fellow musicians and nightclub life and his responsibilitiesto his wife and child, along with the pressures of dealing with a racist America that assaults him at every turn, Manfred seeks easy answers in "Dirty Bird" (Old Crow whiskey) and in moving on. He moves to Omaha with hopes of better opportunities as a blue-collar worker, but the blues in his soul and the dreams in his mind keep bringing...

    Format: Book

    View Dirty Bird Blues
  • Breaking the Maafa Chain

    Breaking the Maafa Chain

    Domingo, Anni

    "Salimatu and her sister Fatmata are captured, sold to slavers, renamed and split apart. Forced to change their names to Sarah and Faith, they end up on opposite sides of the Atlantic Ocean. Faith is taken to America, where slavery is still legal and sheis stripped of all rights. Sarah ends up in a Victorian England and as the goddaughter of Queen Victoria. Can the two sisters reclaim their freedom and identity in a world that is trying to break them down? Will these once inseparable sisters survive without each other? And if they do find each other again, will...

    Format: Book

    View Breaking the Maafa Chain
  • The Lurking Place

    The Lurking Place

    Major, Clarence

    "In 1968, an ambitious young Black poet completes a manuscript and secures publication for his first poetry book, which is well received on publication and nominated for a major award. On the way, he journeys from New York City to Mexico and back, navigates through romantic relationships, secures a desirable teaching job, but will his undetermined success or failure affect his future aspirations? Set in the tumultuous political times of 1968, parallels between today's societal experiences and those of 1968 appear in sharp relief"--

    Format: Book

    View The Lurking Place