• Acts of Violet

    Acts of Violet

    Montimore, Margarita

    NEW FOR JULY! Adult Fiction. A decade ago, magician Violet Volk managed a remarkable stunt onstage: she vanished, never to be seen again. But Violet has never been forgotten, and now the host of a podcast about her is angling to interview her quiet sister, Sasha. With the spotlight's constant glare and disturbing incidents like sleepwalking disrupting her life, Sasha decides that she herself must discover the truth about Violet… Following Montimore’s best-selling debut, Oona Out of Order. ‘Acts of Violet is an utterly original, propulsive story of fame, deception, and forgiveness that will make you believe in magic.’” – Library Journal & Publisher description

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View Acts of Violet
  • Crying in the Bathroom: A Memoir

    Crying in the Bathroom: A Memoir

    Sánchez, Erika L.

    NEW FOR JULY! Adult Nonfiction. “Poet and essayist Sánchez tallies the ‘triumphs, disappointments, delights, and resurrections’ of her life in this raw and sensuous memoir in essays. Since coming into the world as a ‘suicidal fetus’ Sánchez has experienced despair and wonder intensely. These dueling states become the through line to lyrical musings that, though blunt in their candor (‘I called a suicide hotline, but no one answered, which I didn't know was a thing’), are leavened by the author's great wit and compassion. The result is another satisfying addition to Sánchez's deeply moving body of works.” – Publishers Weekly

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View Crying in the Bathroom: A Memoir
  • Dirtbag, Massachusetts: A Confessional

    Dirtbag, Massachusetts: A Confessional

    Fitzgerald, Isaac

    NEW FOR JULY! Adult Nonfiction. “Fitzgerald weaves a raucous mosaic of a rough-and-ready New England rarely seen with a transfixing story of his path to finding himself. In a series of essays, he recounts his impoverished childhood and follows his escape from it through a litany of jobs and identities. A poster child of the ‘classic New England family’…Fitzgerald buried his past in drinking, drugs, and porn. As he takes readers along on his search for salvation, he barrels through many venues--from San Francisco to Southeast Asia to Brooklyn to Kilimanjaro--recounting the ‘conversations that changed me.’ The result is a marvelous coming-of-age story that's as wily and raunchy as it is heartfelt.” – Publishers Weekly

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View Dirtbag, Massachusetts: A Confessional
  • Fantastic Numbers and Where to Find Them: A Cosmic Quest From Zero to Infinity

    Fantastic Numbers and Where to Find Them: A Cosmic Quest From Zero to Infinity

    Padilla, Antonio

    NEW FOR JULY! Adult Nonfiction. “Numbers explain the universe in the electrifying debut from Padilla, a theoretical physicist and YouTuber on the math channel Numberphile. Using metaphors, analogies, and carefully constructed commentary, Padilla tackles such subjects as general and special relativity, black holes, the elusive Higgs boson particle, quantum mechanics, and string theory. He's a stellar guide, shifting from playful to serious with ease, and his love for his subject is infectious and his knowledge vast in a way that is fitting for the material.” Publishers Weekly

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View Fantastic Numbers and Where to Find Them: A Cosmic Quest From Zero to Infinity
  • The Half Life of Valery K

    The Half Life of Valery K

    Pulley, Natasha

    NEW FOR JULY! Adult Fiction. “British novelist Pulley… builds a thriller on the true story of a 1957 nuclear explosion near Chelyabinsk, a city in Siberia. In 1963, Valery K, a biochemist sent to the gulag for political crimes, is reassigned to a lab in the center's ‘chocolate factory,’ where radiation research is ongoing. Very quickly he catches on to the explosive dangers bubbling in the lake where waste from 1957 was dumped. The people in charge pooh-pooh his concerns but he snags the attention of the resident KGB director. Pulley has given the nuclear noir genre a fresh and stimulating take on Chernobyl-style terror.” – Library Journal

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View The Half Life of Valery K
  • Honey and Spice

    Honey and Spice

    Babalola, Bolu

    NEW FOR JULY! Adult Fiction. “As the host of the popular advice show at her college, sharp-tongued Kiki has plenty of relationship advice to dispense, but when it comes to her own dating life, she guards her heart fiercely. Everything changes when she meets the new guy on campus, Malakai, whose player ways are creating waves among the Black student body. When Kiki and Malakai are thrown together for an academic project, they decide to start a fake relationship in order to ensure the success of their assignments. A beautiful and witty novel that's a celebration of love, friendship and Black joy that will wend its way into readers' hearts.” – Library Journal

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View Honey and Spice
  • The Man Who Could Move Clouds: A Memoir

    The Man Who Could Move Clouds: A Memoir

    Rojas Contreras, Ingrid

    NEW FOR JULY! Adult Nonfiction. “Though guerrilla and drug warfare forced Rojas Contreras's family to leave Colombia in 1998 when she was 14, the specters of their past remained present. After a bicycle accident in Chicago nine years later rendered Rojas Contreras amnesiac for eight weeks, [Rojas recounts] in mesmerizing prose family stories of magic and survival, starting with that of her grandfather, Nono, a curandero who could tell the future, heal the sick, and change the weather. In grappling with the violence embedded in her family's DNA, Rojas Contreras affectingly reveals how darkness can only be vanquished when it's brought to the light.” Publishers Weekly

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View The Man Who Could Move Clouds: A Memoir
  • Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

    Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

    Zevin, Gabrielle

    NEW FOR JULY! Adult Fiction. “In this exhilarating novel… two friends come together as creative partners in the world of video game design, where success brings them fame, joy, tragedy, duplicity, and, ultimately, a kind of immortality. On a bitter-cold day, in the December of his junior year at Harvard, Sam Masur exits a subway car and sees Sadie Green. He calls her name. For a moment, she pretends she hasn’t heard him, but then, she turns, and a game begins: a legendary collaboration... Overnight, the world is theirs. Not even 25 years old, Sam and Sadie are brilliant, successful, and rich, but these qualities won’t protect them from their own creative ambitions or the betrayals of their hearts.” – Publisher description

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
  • Upgrade

    Upgrade

    Crouch, Blake

    NEW FOR JULY! Adult Fiction. “At first, Logan Ramsay isn’t sure if anything’s different. He just feels a little… sharper. Better able to concentrate. Better at multitasking. Reading a bit faster, memorizing better, needing less sleep. But before long, he can’t deny it: Something’s happening to his brain. To his body. He’s starting to see the world, and those around him—even those he loves most—in whole new ways. The truth is, Logan’s genome has been hacked. And there’s a reason he’s been targeted for this upgrade. A reason that goes back decades to the darkest part of his past, and a horrific family legacy. Worse still, what’s happening to him is just the first step in a much larger plan, one that will inflict the same changes on humanity at large—at a terrifying cost.” – Publisher description

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View Upgrade
  • The Colony: Faith and Blood in A Promised Land

    The Colony: Faith and Blood in A Promised Land

    Denton, Sally

    NEW FOR JUNE! Adult Nonfiction. “A shocking massacre in 2019 sparks a probing investigation into the strange, violent history of a polygamist Mormon outpost in Mexico. The victims were fundamentalist Mormons whose forebears broke from the LDS Church and settled in Mexico when polygamy was outlawed. Sally Denton…tells the violent history of the LeBaron clan and their homestead, from the first polygamist emigration to Mexico in the 1880s to the LeBarons' internal blood feud in the 1970s to the family's recent alliance with the NXIVM sex cult. Denton creates a mesmerizing work of investigative journalism in the tradition of Under the Banner of Heaven and Going Clear.” – Publisher description

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View The Colony: Faith and Blood in A Promised Land